Confide: Send Messages that Self-Destruct Once Read

#Privacy

Tue, Feb 11th, 2014 21:00 by capnasty NEWS

Currently only available for the iPhone, the Confide app allows you to send messages that self-destruct when read. The app warns if a screenshot is attempted and only allows you to read individual words (you need to swipe over each one of them to read them). Once read, the message is forever gone.

Off-the record conversations happen all the time in the offline world. They are better known as phone calls, meetings, or chats over coffee. They allow you to be honest and genuine without worrying that every word is being archived. BUT, what you say online remains forever. We think this is crazy. With end-to-end encryption and disappearing messages, Confide is bringing off-the-record conversations online. We allow you to say digitally what you're willing to say in person, but have been hesitant to do so. And we're just getting started...

  816

 

You may also be interested in:

Internet-Enabled Toys Ask Too Many Questions
Online Privacy is a Lie
Connecting to a Public WiFi Makes Your Phone Vulnerable to Attack
How Privacy Vanishes Online
Governments' Requests for Users' Data on Facebook Increased by 24% in First Half of 2014