"How you can become a ghost on the Internet, by tracking down and eliminating your digital past."

#Privacy

Tue, Nov 5th, 2013 20:00 by capnasty NEWS

NSA spying aside, Andrew Tarantola of Gizmodo explains how you can erase yourself from the Internet if you find yourself exhausted from constantly being "tethered to the internet".

Facebook makes it very obvious how to deactivate your account; it's under Account Settings > Security > Deactivate your account. Don't be fooled! Deactivation isn't deletion, and when you chose this option, Facebook holds on to all your bits and pieces juuuuussssssst in case you change your mind.

To truly nuke your account, you need to head to the Delete My Account page and click the big blue button. That's it, you're officially off Facebook. The process might take up to a fortnight to complete since the system has to scan the entirety of itself making sure all data related to you — every tagged picture, like, and mention — but when it's gone, it's all gone. The process is irreversible.

  721

 

You may also be interested in:

Self-Destructing Emails
What Facebook Does With the Status Updates You Started Writing But Never Published
Creepstream: Looking at Insecure Camera Feeds From Around the World
Tech Companies' Requests to Disclose Surveillance Denied by U.S. Department of Justice
Know What Terms of Service You're Agreeing To Without Reading Them