One Time Secret: Online Version of the Self-Destructing Message

#Internet

Thu, Jan 12th, 2012 12:00 by capnasty NEWS

Here is a neat tool a client introduced me to: One Time Secret. Write a secret message or any other sensitive information, then send the link to the message to your recipient. Once they read the message, it's immediately deleted -- the link only works once. Very handy for sending a new account's password, without any of the other details, of course.

When you send people passwords and private links via email or chat, there are copies of that information stored in many places. If you use a one-time link instead, the information persists for a single viewing which means it can't be read by someone else later. This allows you to send sensitive information in a safe way knowing it's seen by one person only. Think of it like a self-destructing message.

  968

 

You may also be interested in:

Tennessee Woman Arrested for Facebook 'Poke'
The State of the Internet Operating System
Facebook, Twitter Users Could Face Insurance Hikes
Dating Sites Would Prefer to Keep You Single
Hot Chicks in Batman Shirts