Online PC Care Scammers

I've received this email from William Porquet warning of a company that goes by the name of Online PC Care designed to scam computers users who are not tech-savvy enough:

The other day one of my older friends in Toronto received a mysterious cold-call saying that "they" had detected problems with his computer and that he should follow instructions to resolve them. He was instructed to hit Windows Key + R and then type "www.onlinepccare.com" into the box, which launched a web site. Then he was walked through some (likely bogus) troubleshooting steps, which indicated some (also likely bogus) errors. Then my friend explained to the caller that he already had a tech support friend who keeps his computer in good repair, and ask how much this "service" would cost. He was told by the call-centre droid it would be $130, at which point my friend hung up and called me.

Just letting you all know there are some scumbags out there targeting and cold-calling computer novices who might not know better and misleading them with FUD to get money out of them. According to the onlinepccare.com website, their head office is here:

Block EN 27, Sector V , 2nd Floor, Saltlake City,
Kolkata 700-091 , West Bengal India
Phone: + 91-33-4005 2247 / 2240
Fax: + 91-33-2231 7922

If anyone knows how we might complain about such a scam, I'm interested to hear. I suspect there's not much we can do besides educate our less-savvy friends about this cold-calling tech support scam.

Looks like William's friend isn't the first one to receive these calls.

Check out this discussion on Microsoft about this scam. Or you can read how Bill Mullin dealt with them.

Whatever you do, do not give them access to your computer, do not give them your credit card number.

Amusingly, the above image is a screenshot from Online Pc Care's customer satisfaction comments. Seems anything but satisfied.